Subtractor can do wicked synth bass, and.......

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Theo.M

30 Mar 2024

So....
I have been playing around all day with the synth that started it all, subtractor.

I understand that it is known for certain shortcomings and is over 20 years old, but I have been studying synth sound design lately and that's a really easy synth to learn on. What surprised me is that it can sound really good for filler pads for example, or even the main bass - this is how I did it though. The bass I was using sounded "fine" but needed a bit more meat. It's kind of in between sub and low bass.

I will tell you now that the secret sauce is pretty much Softube's FET Mk1 with look ahead enabled.

There's no other 1176 plugin that can tame peaks like it can, not UAD, nada, and I have been using the Softube one for 9 years (well, besides my 5 year break in between when I stopped music lol).

But, because you can also high pass the detection circuit, you can fatten up the bass something stupid without introducing any clicks (unless you want them of course, different tools for different jobs). It also has parallel compression. Softube really said "to heck with the purists, we are going to take the best aspects of the real hardware and actually make use of digital options" - to this day it's my favourite FET compressor bar none, I am not even going to bother to upgrade to V2 even when I can afford it as V1 is perfect as it is.

Everything else I used was 100% free.

First, was a free Pultec VST (Kiive Audio Warmy EP1A) where I boosted and cut at 60 and also added a touch of high frequency, a touch, at 8K.

Then I used the free opto compressor for some slowish compression (slow attack, fast to medium release) with just a couple DB of gain reduction, Analog Obsession LALA.
(Another very good FREE one is the ADHD levelling tool and that is also one of those ones with lots of extra features).